| LATEST NEWS» General elections 2013

Ex Bulgarian PM Returns Mandate to Form Govt

Politics » DOMESTIC | May 23, 2013, Thursday // 13:35
Ex Bulgarian PM Returns Mandate to Form Govt: Ex Bulgarian PM Returns Mandate to Form Govt Boyko Borisov (l) and Rosen Plevneliev (r), photo by BGNES

At 12:30 pm Thursday, Bulgarian President, Rosen Plevneliev, gave the mandate to form a Cabinet to Boyko Borisov, former Prime Minister and leader of the center-right GERB party.

Plevneliev said he was giving the mandate to the Citizens for European Development of Bulgaria party, GERB, under article 99, paragraph 1 of the Constitution which postulates it has to be offered first to the largest parliamentary political group.

"Bulgarian voters made us the largest group in the Parliament. We promised them to not enter any senseless coalitions," said Borisov and proceeded to fulfill his promise in announcing his nominations for ministers and then returning the mandate back to Plevneliev.

He stated he was ashamed from the ethnic Turkish party Movement for Rights and Freedoms, DPS, and the left-wing Bulgarian Socialist Party, BSP, and their respective leaders, Lyutvi Mestan and Sergey Stanishev, as they were getting ready to collaborate with xenophobic and anti-EU far-right nationalist Ataka.

"I was ready to give them the one needed MP vote to be able to form a government, but this alliance with Ataka embarrasses us before Europe. This fresh Three-Way Coalition will turn into a deadly tumor," the former PM said and returned the mandate to the President.

Below is the list of ministers nominated by Borisov:

Lilyana Pavlova – Deputy PM and Minister of Regional Development and Public Works, Tomislav Donchev - Deputy PM and Minster for the Management of EU Funds, Vladislav Goranov - Finance Minister (former Deputy Finance Minister), Delyan Dobrev – Economy Minister, Dimitar Glavchev – Energy Minister (new, until now there was one Ministry of Economy and Energy, where Dobrev served as the most recent minister – editor's note), Dobroslav Dimitrov – Minister of Electronic Government (new), Veselin Vuchkov – Interior Minister (former Deputy Interior Minister under Tsvetan Tsvetanov), Nikolay Mladenov – Foreign Affairs Minister, Diana Kovacheva – Justice Minister, Anyu Angelov – Defense Minister, Stefan Vodenicharov – Education Minister, Desislava Atanasova – Health Minister, Ivelina Vasileva – Minister of Environment and Waters (new), Vezhdi Rashidov – Minister of Culture, Desislava Taneva – Agriculture Minister (new, replaces embattled Miroslav Naydenov charged with corruption and abuse of power), and Svilen Neykov – Sports Minister.

Borisov arrived earlier at the building of the presidential administration alone.

We need your support so Novinite.com can keep delivering news and information about Bulgaria! Thank you!

Domestic » Be a reporter: Write and send your article
Tags: DPS, BSP, Elections 2013, elections, SORA, Ataka, Movement for Rights and Freedoms, Bulgarian Socialist Party, GERB, Rosen Plevneliev, Elections 2013, Ataka, DPS, Rosen Plevneliev, constitution, parliament, GERB, Boyko Borisov, Prime Minister, BSP, caretaker govenment, vote, president, parliamentary groups, Cabinet, Sergey Stanishev, Lyutvi Mestan, Plamen Oresharski, general elections
Expats.bg All Are Welcome! Join Now!
Bulgaria news Novinite.com (Sofia News Agency - www.sofianewsagency.com) is unique with being a real time news provider in English that informs its readers about the latest Bulgarian news. The editorial staff also publishes a daily online newspaper "Sofia Morning News." Novinite.com (Sofia News Agency - www.sofianewsagency.com) and Sofia Morning News publish the latest economic, political and cultural news that take place in Bulgaria. Foreign media analysis on Bulgaria and World News in Brief are also part of the web site and the online newspaper. News Bulgaria