9 Non-EU States Join EU Sanctions on Iran

Politics » BULGARIA IN EU | November 2, 2012, Friday // 17:10| Views: | Comments: 0
  • Send to Kindle
Bulgaria: 9 Non-EU States Join EU Sanctions on Iran A picture made available on 02 October 2012, shows Iranians in front of the shops in a bazaar in Tehran, Iran, 14 March 2012. EPA/BGNES

Nine "EU-aspirant" and "EU-affiliated" countries have joined the Union's recent ban on Iranian gas imports and banks.

EU candidates and EEA countries - Albania, Croatia, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Macedonia, Moldova, Montenegro, Norway and Serbia – have now subscribed to the EU sanctions against Iran over the Iranian nuclear program, EU Observer has reported.

The publication comments that the move highlights a change in Serbia-Russia relations since Serbia is a former Russian ally and Russia has criticized the EU sanctions on Iran.

Western powers, including the EU and the US, have alleged that Iran's uranium enrichment program is geared towards producing nuclear weapons, a claim that the Iranian state has been rejecting as baseless.

Bulgaria in EU » Be a reporter: Write and send your article
Tags: Albania, Croatia, Iceland, Liechtenstein, macedonia, moldova, Montenegro, Norway, Serbia, EU, sanctions, Iran, Iranian nuclear program, Russia
Expats.bg All Are Welcome! Join Now!
Please, log in to post a comment.
» To the forumComments (0)
Bulgaria news Novinite.com (Sofia News Agency - www.sofianewsagency.com) is unique with being a real time news provider in English that informs its readers about the latest Bulgarian news. The editorial staff also publishes a daily online newspaper "Sofia Morning News." Novinite.com (Sofia News Agency - www.sofianewsagency.com) and Sofia Morning News publish the latest economic, political and cultural news that take place in Bulgaria. Foreign media analysis on Bulgaria and World News in Brief are also part of the web site and the online newspaper. News Bulgaria