EU countries agreed on the Eighth Package of Sanctions against Russia

World » RUSSIA | October 5, 2022, Wednesday // 14:21
Bulgaria: EU countries agreed on the Eighth Package of Sanctions against Russia

The ambassadors of the EU countries agreed on the eighth consecutive package of sanctions against Russia. The package was proposed last week by the EC in response to the illegitimate Russian referendums in the occupied Ukrainian territories.

"Ambassadors reached a political agreement on new sanctions against Russia - a strong EU response to Putin's illegal annexation of Ukrainian territories," the Czech Presidency of the Council of the EU announced. The sanctions will enter into force after their publication in the Official Journal of the EU. This is expected to happen tomorrow.

The sanctions provide for an expansion of the list of sanctioned individuals and legal entities, a ban on the export of more goods and technologies worth 7 billion euros. The new package includes imposing a price cap on Russian oil exported to third countries, a measure around which the G7 countries have come together.

Follow on Twitter and Facebook

Write to us at

Информирайте се на Български -


We need your support so can keep delivering news and information about Bulgaria! Thank you!

Russia » Be a reporter: Write and send your article
Tags: sanctions, Russia, EU, EC

Bulgaria news (Sofia News Agency - is unique with being a real time news provider in English that informs its readers about the latest Bulgarian news. The editorial staff also publishes a daily online newspaper "Sofia Morning News." (Sofia News Agency - and Sofia Morning News publish the latest economic, political and cultural news that take place in Bulgaria. Foreign media analysis on Bulgaria and World News in Brief are also part of the web site and the online newspaper. News Bulgaria