EU Allows Checks at Internal Borders To Continue in 5 Schengen States

World » EU | November 11, 2016, Friday // 14:21| Views: | Comments: 0
Bulgaria: EU Allows Checks at Internal Borders To Continue in 5 Schengen States BGNES

The EU has allowed 5 states in Schengen to continue the checks for illegal migrants along their internal land frontiers until February 2017.

The final decision was adopted by the governments of the member-states after a proposal by the European Commission.

Despite the fact that the so-called Balkan route from Greece through Macedonia and Serbia towards Western Europe has been closed for months and the influx of illegal migrants has stopped, Brussels decided that there is still risk for wealthier countries which are the final destination of migrants. These are Germany, Austria, Denmark, Sweden and Norway.

According to the rules for the free movement of people in the Schengen area, their police do not have the right to stop travelers for checks at internal borders except under extraordinary circumstances.

According to the European Commission, such circumstances still exist. This is why its proposal was approved by representatives of member-states and enters into force on Saturday.

We need your support so can keep delivering news and information about Bulgaria! Thank you!

EU » Be a reporter: Write and send your article
Tags: Schengen, internal borders, checks, Balkan Route, EU, EC, migrants, Germany, Denmark, Austria, Norway, Sweden
Advertisement All Are Welcome! Join Now!
Bulgaria news (Sofia News Agency - is unique with being a real time news provider in English that informs its readers about the latest Bulgarian news. The editorial staff also publishes a daily online newspaper "Sofia Morning News." (Sofia News Agency - and Sofia Morning News publish the latest economic, political and cultural news that take place in Bulgaria. Foreign media analysis on Bulgaria and World News in Brief are also part of the web site and the online newspaper. News Bulgaria