Culture Tourism Plan Divides Bulgaria in 13 Regions

Business » TOURISM | October 14, 2009, Wednesday // 17:14
Culture Tourism Plan Divides Bulgaria in 13 Regions: Culture Tourism Plan Divides Bulgaria in 13 Regions The Madara Rider is included in the EU project for the preservation and conservation of historical sites in Europe. Photo by BGNES

The Bulgarian cabinet approved Wednesday the long-term plan for the development of culture tourism in the country.

EUR 1,4 M from EU funds have been used for the plan's preparation.

The document catalogs 300 archeology sites or over 80% of the archeology sites in Bulgaria.

It divides the country in 13 regions: Great Sofia, the Kings' Valley, the Renaissance Towns, the Danube Shores, The Stone Heart (a mostly local destination including the southern cities of Stara Zagora and Sliven), the Ancient Bulgarian Capitals and the Madara Rider, the Sword and the Cross including Perperikon, the Strandzha Mountain, Plovdiv and the Roman Empire, the Shores of the Black Sea, the Gate to the Rhodope Mountains, the Great Mountains, and the Petrified Forest.

The financing is provided by the State budget and EU operational programs, mainly the “Regional Development” one. The plan has also received the financial and expert support of the Italian government.

We need your support so can keep delivering news and information about Bulgaria! Thank you!

Tourism » Be a reporter: Write and send your article
Tags: Traicho Traikov, culture tourism, Sandanski
Advertisement All Are Welcome! Join Now!
Bulgaria news (Sofia News Agency - is unique with being a real time news provider in English that informs its readers about the latest Bulgarian news. The editorial staff also publishes a daily online newspaper "Sofia Morning News." (Sofia News Agency - and Sofia Morning News publish the latest economic, political and cultural news that take place in Bulgaria. Foreign media analysis on Bulgaria and World News in Brief are also part of the web site and the online newspaper. News Bulgaria