UAE Lifts Visas for Bulgaria and 12 Other EU Member States

Politics » DIPLOMACY | March 5, 2014, Wednesday // 15:32| Views: | Comments: 0
  • Send to Kindle
Bulgaria: UAE Lifts Visas for Bulgaria and 12 Other EU Member States Photo by EPA/BGNES.

Citizens of 13 European Union member countries, including Bulgaria will be exempted from acquiring pre-entry visas before traveling to the United Arab Emirates.

The exempted countries are Poland, Slovenia, Slovakia, Czech Republic, Lithuania, Hungary, Latvia, Estonia, Malta, Cyprus, Croatia, Romania and Bulgaria.

Citizens of all 28 countries in the EU will be allowed to enter the UAE without having to previously apply for a visa. The new rules will take effect starting March 22.

The move follows the cancellation of the EU Schengen visa for Emiratis, which received final approval from the European parliament on February 27. One of the conditions of approval was a bilateral visa waiver from the UAE for EU citizens.

The exemptions are expected to enhance political relations between the UAE and the European Union, and also to help develop economic ties and bilateral trade and encourage mutual investment.

Diplomacy » Be a reporter: Write and send your article
Tags: European Union, UAE, United Arab Emirates, pre-entry visas, schengen visa All Are Welcome! Join Now!
Please, log in to post a comment.
» To the forumComments (0)
Bulgaria news (Sofia News Agency - is unique with being a real time news provider in English that informs its readers about the latest Bulgarian news. The editorial staff also publishes a daily online newspaper "Sofia Morning News." (Sofia News Agency - and Sofia Morning News publish the latest economic, political and cultural news that take place in Bulgaria. Foreign media analysis on Bulgaria and World News in Brief are also part of the web site and the online newspaper. News Bulgaria