European Elections 2014

Bulgarian MEP Names Announced by Central Electoral Commission

Politics » EUROPEAN ELECTIONS 2014 | May 30, 2014, Friday // 18:14| Views: | Comments: 0
  • Send to Kindle
Bulgaria: Bulgarian MEP Names Announced by Central Electoral Commission It is now clear who the 17 Bulgarian MEPs will be, after days of speculations regarding the role of preference voting in the final list. File photo

The Central Electoral Commission (CEC) has announced the names of Bulgaria's 17 newly-elected MEPs.

On its website, CEC reveals that expected reshuffles were officially made in a few parties' European elections lists.

Momchil Nekov, the Bulgarian Socialist Party (BSP) candidate who was #15, is one of the seventeen MEPs after managing to "oust" leader Sergey Stanishev from the first place though surprising preference voting. Stanishev, however, does not "lose" his seat as predicted; he will be among Bulgaria's representatives in the European Parliament for just a month and will then renounce his seat, allowing for another MEP, Petar Kurumbashev, to replace him.

Svetoslav Malinov, who was #2 in the list of the Reformist Bloc, will go to Brussels even though the coalition of right parties gained a single MEP seat on May 25. The reason is that he replaced Meglena Kuneva as most most desired candidate by supporters following massive preference vote in his favour.

The Movement for Rights and Freedoms (DPS)'s Delyan Peevski is not among those gaining MEP seats after he officially conceded his place in the EP to incumbent Environment Minister Iskra Mihaylova.

This is how the list of Bulgaria's MEPs looks like:

1. Angel Chavdarov Dzhambazki (Bulgaria without Censorship)
2. Andrey Andreev Kovachev (GERB)
3. Vladimir Andreev Uruchev (GERB)
4. Georgi Georgiev Pirinski (BSP)
5. Eva Konstantinova Paunova (GERB)
6. Emil Yordanov Radev (GERB)
7. Iliyana Malinova Yotova (BSP)
8. Ilhan Ahmet Kyuchyuk (DPS)
9. Iskra Dimitrova Mihaylova-Koparova (DPS)
10. Mariya Ivanova Gabriel (GERB)
11. Momchil Stefanov Nekov (BSP)
12. Nedzhmi Niyazi Ali (DPS)
13. Nikolay Tihomirov Barekov (Bulgaria without Censorship)
14. Svetoslav Hristov Malinov (Reformist Bloc)
15. Sergey Dmitrievich Stanishev (BSP)
16. Tomislav Peykov Donchev (GERB)
17. Filiz Hakaeva Hyusmenova (DPS)

In May 25's European elections in Bulgaria, center-right GERB has received 30.4% of the votes, with the ruling BSP trailing second as it gained 18.93%.

The Movement for Rights and Freedoms (DPS) comes third with 17.27% Bulgaria without Censorship, a party established last year which led a coalition including smaller parties through the May 25 votes, has got 10.66% of the ballots cast.

The Reformist bloc, a coalition of right parties, gains 6.45%.

European Elections 2014 » Be a reporter: Write and send your article
Tags: Central Electoral Commission, european elections, BSP, GERB, DPS, Bulgaria without Censorship, Reformist Bloc, Sergey Stanishev, Momchil Nekov, Svetoslav Malinov, Delyan Peevski, Meglena Kuneva, iskra mihaylova All Are Welcome! Join Now!
Please, log in to post a comment.
» To the forumComments (0)
Bulgaria news (Sofia News Agency - is unique with being a real time news provider in English that informs its readers about the latest Bulgarian news. The editorial staff also publishes a daily online newspaper "Sofia Morning News." (Sofia News Agency - and Sofia Morning News publish the latest economic, political and cultural news that take place in Bulgaria. Foreign media analysis on Bulgaria and World News in Brief are also part of the web site and the online newspaper. News Bulgaria