European Elections 2014

Six EU Commissioners Granted Temporary Electoral Leave

Politics » EUROPEAN ELECTIONS 2014 | April 3, 2014, Thursday // 14:14| Views: 7148 | Comments: 0
  • Send to Kindle
Bulgaria: Six EU Commissioners Granted Temporary Electoral Leave Photo by EPA/BGNES.

Six EU commissioners will take temporary electoral leave in April as part of their candidacies for May's European elections.

Economic affairs chief Olli Rehn, justice commissioner Viviane Reding, industry boss Antonio Tajani, administration commissioner Maros Sefcovic, EU budget chief Janusz Lewandowski, consumer protection commissioner Neven Mimica are all standing for the EU assembly.

According to a statement by EC president Jose Manuel Barroso the six EU officials will be granted electoral leave between 19 April and 25 May, except for Rehn whose electoral leave will begin on 7 April.

The leave period is unpaid and during that time the commissioners will not be able to use the EC resources.

If elected, those who decide to take up seats in the European Parliament must resign from the Commission no later than the end of June.

While the six commissioners are on electoral leave, their functions will be taken over by their colleagues, including the Commission president Jose Manuel Barroso.

European Elections 2014 » Be a reporter: Write and send your article
Tags: Neven Mimica, Janusz Lewandowski, Maroš Šefčovič, Antonio Tajani, elections, European parliament, Viviane Reding, Olli Rehn, Commissioners, European Commission, Jose Manuel Barroso All Are Welcome! Join Now!
Please, log in to post a comment.
» To the forumComments (0)